In honor of St. Patrick’s Day, I was going to make corned beef and cabbage. But then I ate too big of a breakfast and too big of a lunch, and thus couldn’t stomach eating a big dinner (let alone cooking it). So I dug around in the fridge for something else to make. I had zucchini. Zucchini is green. And therefore festive enough for a St. Patty’s Day challenge? Zucchini sticks? I’ve never made those before. St. Patrick’s Day crisis averted.

The recipe: I used a version of this recipe, which called for baking the zucchini sticks instead of frying them.

They may not look too appetizing, but they sure tasted good!

They may not look too appetizing, but they sure tasted good!

Quick recap: Since I didn’t have any eggs left after my Day 16 challenge, I coated the zucchini in a thin layer of olive oil. Tomato sauce = can of stewed tomatoes + lots of spices.

Green enough...

Green enough…

The verdict: So much for corned beef and cabbage – these guys really hit the spot after a big weekend!
 

