This recipe sounds waaaayyyy more complicated than it was, but it was definitely challenge worthy. See, my sister recently returned from a trip to Bali and proceeded to throw all kinds of spices and Balinese cooking items at me – with little instruction on what they were and how to cook with them (not that I wasn’t appreciative)! I was particularly intrigued by a block of “Blitar Mantep Sedang,” which she called “spicy peanut sauce” and said that the Balinese used in everything (but she had no idea what to do with it and Google couldn’t even help me out). Some leftover udon noodles packets from last week’s trip to Seattle’s Uwajimaya megastore seemed like an appropriate petri dish for this mystery peanut block.

What the heck do you do with something like this?

What the heck do you do with something like this?

The recipe: Uhhhhh… I kind of made this one up and kept it really basic.

Quick recap: I dry fried some tofu (before I read this Seattle Times article – uh oh), and then stir fried up some veggies (zucchini, mushrooms, red pepper, and scallions) in some sesame oil. I mixed half of the peanut block with some sesame oil and water for 5 minutes or so. Then I added them all together with some of the udon noodle packets and threw on some thai basil as a garnish.

photo (85)

The verdict: It did taste like a spicy peanut sauce – with a hint of otherworldliness. I thought of adding sriracha or soy, but decided that the flavors were rich, spicy, and flavorful enough to eat on their own. I’m sure I did this all wrong, but I’m looking forward to eating leftovers for lunch today.

photo (87)

