I was craving pizza for dinner last night, but didn’t think I could make something different enough to qualify for yesterday’s challenge (I make pizza often). So I was going to make a challenge-worthy dessert or something when I realized that I had forgotten to buy mozzarella. But I had gouda. I could probably do something unusual with gouda. I decided to make the pizza challenge ON after all!

photo (72)

Pre-cooked…

The recipe: I made a whole wheat crust (a departure from my usual white flour dough recipe) and was inspired by this “Apple, Bacon, and Gouda” pizza recipe. (The dough recipe makes enough for two pizzas and is easily freezable).

Pizza dough after two hours of rising

Pizza dough after two hours of rising

Quick recap: Two hours of waiting for the dough to rise gave me ample time to consider my intended recipe. Apples on a pizza? This seemed quite risky… but why not give it a shot? I didn’t have bacon, so I used salami. The toppings didn’t seem colorful enough, so I added some zucchini.

The verdict: Wow. The balance of sweet (honey/olive oil base? So simple and yet so amazing.) and salty made my taste buds explode. I need to forget to buy mozzarella more often! I overate. And I still want just one more slice…

The finished produce - with a side of brussels sprouts and cabbage

The finished produce – with a side of brussels sprouts and cabbage

Yes, I could eat this every night.

Yes, I could eat this every night.

