This challenge has motivated me to go through all of those dusty cookbooks that have been sitting on my bookshelf since I moved in. I found a recipe that was a little bit of a mystery: I couldn’t figure out if it would come out like a quiche, bread-covered artichoke, or some mix of the two. Sounded like a challenge-worthy, low-key dinner alternative.

The recipe: Listed under the “hot appetizers” section of a community cookbook:

The "artichoke squares" recipe

The “artichoke squares” recipe

Quick recap: I picked up some 99-cent parsley at Pike’s Place Market on the way home. I used parmesan and mozzarella instead of cheddar and added some garlic. I only had one jar of artichokes so I only used three eggs.

Pike's Place Market is not just for tourists

Pike’s Place Market is not just for tourists

The verdict: The nice thing about this recipe is that is is very versatile. Not only can you throw in just about anything you want into the batter, but you can eat it for breakfast, lunch or dinner – or serve it as an appetizer (as the recipe recommends). And the taste verdict is… it tastes like a mix of quiche and bread-covered artichoke!

It looks like a quiche...

It looks like a quiche…

But once I scooped it onto a plate, it seemed more like bread-covered artichoke...

But once I scooped it onto a plate, it seemed more like bread-covered artichoke…

