You might have noticed during the past week that I tend to base a lot of what I cook on what I have in the fridge or cupboard. For yesterday’s recipe challenge, I decided to get creative with stuff that I already had at home (due to laziness): parsnips and shallots. I thought a parsnip pancake sounded brilliant and not too difficult… but I still ended up needing to run to the store to get a sweet potato and leeks. Oh well.

The recipe: This recipe for Sweet Potato Parsnip Latkes with Feta and Leeks was the model I used for my pancakes. I made a few alterations, mostly because I don’t like feta (I know I know…)… but I really liked the idea of using nutmeg! Besides skipping the feta, I only used the veggies shown below, added a fried shallot, and used regular white flour.

These ingredients made about 15 pancakes!

These ingredients made about 15 pancakes!

Quick recap:  I was excited to give leeks a shot once again, although I needed a reminder of how to prepare them. Potato pancakes are very tasty, but I always forget how much grating is involved. Even with just one sweet potato and three parsnips, I was about to give up and rest. (And is it bad that I can’t get this song out of my head every time I make potato pancakes?)

Parsnip potato pancakes in the making

Parsnip potato pancakes in the making

The verdict: Very tasty, but they probably would have been better with some flavor to balance out all the natural sweetness (like feta? whoops…). I used a bit of horseradish. But I loved the parsnip flavor! Mine could have also used another egg to keep them from falling apart. I will make them again if someone will help out with the grating…

Pancakes? Or a plate of parsnip/potato mush?

Pancakes? Or a plate of parsnip/potato mush?

