Yesterday was one of those, “I don’t have time to think, let alone cook!” kind of days. But a challenge is a challenge, so I decided to whip out one of my “emergency” recipes – something that I have wanted to make that doesn’t take too much time or effort. Like, “three ingredient cookies.” My friend swears by this family recipe, and offered the disclaimer that these cookies are “different” and not for those who have a major sweet tooth.

The recipe: An undisclosed mix of oats, whole wheat flour, and apple juice (heavy on the oats). Mix them together until you have a mushy consistency. Add whatever additional ingredients you have on hand. I added cinnamon, chocolate chips, coconut flakes, and dried cranberries. Shape into flat cookie shapes. Bake 10-12 minutes on a greased cookie sheet at 350 degrees.

On their way into the oven...

On their way into the oven…

Quick recap: I only had “quick” Quaker Oats on hand (my friend had warned me against using these), but alas, it didn’t seem to affect my cookies all that much!

The verdict: Surprisingly sweet (thanks to my extra ingredients, perhaps?) and tasty. Even my usual “healthy dessert skeptic” ate three in one sitting. These are a great, easy, healthy snack to make!

They even resemble 'more-than-3-ingredient' cookies

They even resemble ‘more-than-3-ingredient’ cookies

