In order to celebrate Seattle’s seafood strengths, I felt like it was time I finally made some kind of seafood dish. So, I dug into the freezer and found some tilapia fillets (courtesy of Lam’s Seafood Market) and decided that tonight was going to be fish taco night – a first for someone who used to be fish-averse. I decided to jazz up the fish tacos with some ingredients I don’t normally use in tacos (or at all) – like red cabbage and tomatillos (on sale at my favorite veggie market, Beacon Hill’s McPherson’s Fruit and Produce).

The recipes:

Quick recap: I have always been hesitant of the tomatillo. It seemed odd, unnecessary and high maintenance. But the peeling part was easy — and the roasting part was even easier. Next time I will add even more to the sauce. The slaw would have been even better had I let it sit overnight, but this challenge is challenging enough – I can’t always plan ahead….

photo (59)

Okay, these roasted veggies don’t look too appetizing… but trust me – once blended, you will have a delicious tomatillo sauce!

The verdict: Make this! It is easy, different enough, very tasty, and not-too-fishy (a plus for me – but maybe I just lucked out with my fillets?). I am actually sad there are so few leftovers…

This meal made for a lot of dishes later...

This meal made for a lot of dirty dishes later…

But it was worth it...

But it was worth it!

