Ever since I first tasted the Baba Ghanoush at the Forks Mediterranean Deli in Easton, PA, I have been hooked on the stuff. In my opinion, this Lebanese, family-run deli in the middle of a supermarket complex makes the best Baba Ghanoush in the world and there is no replicating it.

I make hummus all the time, so why have I never attempted to make Baba Ghanoush? Now that I live about 3000 miles away from the Forks Deli, I feel like I have no more excuses NOT to try to make Baba Ghanoush – and just hope that it bears some teeny resemblance to Edmond and his wife’s stuff. Plus, the New England Journal of Medicine just published a report this week showing that a Mediterranean diet prevents cardiovascular disease. So, my decision for making baba ghanoush for my Day 2 challenge is a no brainer! (Also, I need something a lot simpler after all of yesterday’s Ethiopian cooking).

The Recipe: This recipe on allrecipes.com seemed authentic-enough and got great reviews.

Quick Recap: I followed the recipe almost exactly. The hardest part was waiting for the eggplant to bake.

The eggplant nearly falls apart after baking. The skin easily peels off.

The eggplant nearly falls apart after baking. The skin easily peels off.

The Verdict: This dip is going to become a staple. Still not as good as Edmond’s, but it’s so easy, healthy and delicious.  How have I never made this before?

I cannot allow myself to eat it all in one sitting. I cannot allow myself to eat it all in one sitting...

I cannot allow myself to eat it all in one sitting. I cannot allow myself to eat it all in one sitting…

